Update on 2014

In February, after examining some of my writings of the past five years, I set out my goals for 2014. This post is an update on how I am doing and some revisions. My goals fell in two categories:

Invest in Community

Live Simply.

The last part of investing in Community had to do with use of this space and the Internet. I wrote

I hope to use my internet time to develop relationships more than to create a presence of “ideas”. As for this blog, I will continue my First thoughts on the Lectionary, and with Esther Emery continue the conversation about simplicity or “The Spirit of the Poor” on the last Wednesday of each month. I am in process of thinking about another thread that will replace this (2014) series.

I have tried to fulfil this goal, but am now in process of revising it. I will keep trying to develop relationships through the internet, but am not satisfied with how this has worked these past few months. My “First thoughts on the Lectionary” series did not continue this week. I’m not sure I have much to say that is benefit to others, so don’t think I will continue. And I will probably participate in the “Spirit of the Poor” series, but don’t think I will be involved in leadership there. I may not participate this month, mainly because I will not be at a computer during that period. And I did not develop a series of that replaced my 2014 series. This post is all that came of that. I will have much less presence on line in the coming months.

In the second category, “Live Simply” I wrote:

Cummington

It is my hope to spend some time in Cummington in May to prepare some of the garden and orchard for planting of squash, potatoes and corn. I also hope to find enough smaller down trees that I can cut up for firewood that won’t require splitting.

My plan now is to have my wife drop me off in Cummington on April 24, and pick me up on May 3. That gives me about 9 days to get the garden ready, repair the deer fence so that orchard trees don’t get eaten by the deer, and perhaps get some start on my wood supply for next year. That is why I won’t be at a computer for the “Spirti of the Poor” discussion.

I have written more stories for my granddaughter, and that has been a joy. I have also made slow progress on my book being published.  Perhaps it will be available at the end of May.

My plans to visit friends and family are still up in the air, but I have hope.

Thanks for reading, those of you who have stopped by here. It still doesn’t feel like a home for me, but I will see if I have anything to say along my journey, and if so, I’ll let you know.

Newell

About Newell Hendricks

I have lived a good life. Maybe a counterculture life, maybe a normal life. I have written operas, built houses, been involved with cross-cultural education between Latin America and the U.S, and hardly ever had a job I have helped raise two wonderful children with my amazing wife. It's been a good ride. And I go to church. I've just finished a book of stories from my life, I am still connected to an organization in Nicaragua that promotes sister relationships between communities, faith communities, or schoold, and to the extent that my cancer doesn't pull me down, am attempting to share some of what I have learned, or at least tried out. Welcome, and let's share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Update on 2014

  1. Newell, thank you for all you are doing. Your posts, comments, and discussions have been truly edifying for me and quite inspiring. You will be missed as a presence on the Spirit of the Poor conversation. However, it is quite understandable. Sending prayers your way: that your time in the garden is healing and life-giving.

    Thank you for all you do, Newell. You are a gift!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your support. If the synchroblog starts on the 30th, then I may have time to put something up when I return. Again, thank you for your support.

      Like

      • Well, I will look forward to reading it if it’s up, but understand if you have to skip out. Thank YOU for all you do! You exemplify a true model of how to follow Jesus and share his radical love with others.

        Like

  2. Hi Newell,
    Always a pleasure to read your posts. A quick shout-out from across the miles. Lea and I will be visiting Boston May 16-20 and I would be grateful if we could meet aside from COTC events that we will be attending. Looking forward to seeing you!
    Much love,
    Sonya

    Like

    • Yes, let’s get together. I have a Dr. appointment the morning of the 17th, but am free most other times.
      Newell

      Like

    • Sonya, I got my mohths mixed up. One event I would love for you to attend is the evening of the 16th, I will be reading the last 4 stories from my book: the activism stories. 7-9 at my house. But I will have time other than that Friday evening. Let’s have coffee and talk.
      Newell

      Like

  3. I look forward to your return – I enjoy hearing your thoughts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

